Skip to content
July 20, 2010 / Peter

Synergy hands…a guidebook

Good friend/jaded old person/journalist Rikki King recently referenced my “synergy hands.” This reference dates back to when I used to work in that water-damaged gift wrapping room just off the main space. Frequently Rikki and I would be the only ones in there, and man did we have some good times.

One of those times, I happened to be talking about the concept of synergy (a fancy business buzzword). To illustrate my point, I made a hand gesture. It seemed to have stuck with us.

Apparently, she’s attempted to impart the idea of synergy hands to her employers. She’s been met with suspicion and ridicule, which is entirely fitting.

So, here it is. HOW TO DO SYNERGY HANDS, a guidebook by Peter Wagner.

Synergy hands is a baffling concept to many. I’ve had the honor of teaching many seminars where droves of hapless business executives slap their hands together in vein. So don’t feel bad if you walk away from this brief tutorial still puzzled and frankly a little worried about “synergy hands.”

Take a look at this:

Look at those sad hands, gesturing aimlessly. They’re not synergized at all.  What good are these hands at illustrating the concept of togetherness? No good, that’s what. You can’t even begin to convey the idea of content sharing relationships, or shared social networking. They’re absolutely useless.

Now have a look at this:

Look at those hands. Fingers intertwined, palms nearly touching. With those hands I can truly impart to my fellow workers the weight of connectivity. Togetherness is clearly indicated by the interlocking nature of my fingers. You almost can’t tell them apart.

In sum: hands which are not connected cannot convey the power of connection.

This ones for you, Rikki. Imma miss you.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. leadguitarpr / Jul 20 2010 8:51 pm

    Hahaha I’ll have to try this!

  2. Rikki King / Jul 21 2010 9:32 am

    this makes me so incredibly happy

Leave a comment